Restaurant Review: Angelica Kitchen

Details: Located at 300 East 12th St., New York, NY 10003. Official site is http://www.angelicakitchen.com/

Had dinner with my level 9000 vegan friend. As a meat eater, it greatly displeases me to eat vegan food, but she’s my friend so I suck it up.

One of the surprisingly annoying parts of eating at strictly vegan restaurants is that most of these places don’t make salads. They’ve got to mix in some fake meat or some sickening sauce to a dish than have some plain vegetables. Salads are just about the only vegan thing I eat of my own volition, so it’s incredibly frustrating when I go to these vegan places and they don’t have freakin’ salad.

Thankfully, Angelica Kitchen does make salads. I ordered a salad with some grilled vegetables and balsamic vinaigrette I think. It was fine. Had some hummus, too now that I think about it. It was fine and exactly as described. My friends also ordered some stuff but I had no interest in remembering what it was since there was no meat in any of it. As often happens, the vegans raved about how good the food was and the omnivores quietly cried into their food.

The interior was fine.

The service was incredibly nice. I’ve noticed that most vegan establishments have really nice service people.

Score: 4.5/10 As a meat eater, I can give no higher score than this. Just having a plain salad pleased me. It wasn’t even a great salad.

Leave a comment