Restaurant Review: Giano

Details: Located at 126 E 7th St., New York, NY 10009. The official site is http://www.gianonyc.com/

According to foursquare.com, this place has the best tiramisu in the east village. I don’t know if I’d agree with that. Their pasta is pretty good.

I ordered the Bigoli al ragu d’agnello e noci tostate (homemade thick spaghetti with slow cooked braised lamb ragout and toasted walnut powder) for $17.95 and the tiramisu for $7.95. The pasta came in an unusually large plate for such a small amount of pasta. Serving sizes are somewhat small here. I will say that the quality of the pasta was comparable to Eataly, which I think is the best pasta I’ve eaten in New York City in this price range. The tiramisu was good, although I don’t think that it was so good as to be the best I’ve ever had.

Service was nice. Interior was nice as it was your standard, trendy dim lighting with exposed brick.

Overall, while a good place to eat, I probably wouldn’t recommend it because of the small portions. I would recommend it to anyone who’s vegan or all about that gluten free life. The main reason we came here was to appease our very vegan friend.

Score: 6.7/10

Leave a comment