TV Show Review: Rick and Morty, All Episodes Including Season 1, 2, and Season 3, Episode 1, “The Rickshaw Redemption”

Details: Airs on Cartoon Network. Each episode is about twenty-two minutes long. Each season has about eleven episodes.

On April 1, I was looking forward to watching the newest episode of Samurai Jack. I’m a long time Samurai Jack fan. To my surprise and to the surprise of viewers everywhere, the newest episode of Rick and Morty aired instead of Samurai Jack. I’ve never watched Rick and Morty before, but I’ve heard good things. I didn’t watch the episode that night and, instead, binge watched the first two seasons of Rick and Morty before eventually watching the newest episode, “The Rickshaw Redemption.”

Rick and Morty is a science-fiction cartoon about a genius named Rick and his grandson Morty. Together, they go on adventures through space and alternate dimensions.

It’s mostly a comedy with a lot of science fiction elements thrown in. As expected of a cartoon on Cartoon Network’s Adult Swim group of shows, there’s some really weird stuff that likely appeals most to marijuana users. Even if you don’t use various substances to inebriate yourself, it’s still an enjoyable show. A lot of the jokes hit their mark for me.

What Rick and Morty gives me that I don’t get from other shows is it’s unpredictability. Most episodes, I have no idea what’s going to happen or what the general direction of the show will be. With that said, it’s not as trippy or as random as other shows on Adult Swim. For instance, I’ve never enjoyed Aqua Teen Hunger Force. Rick and Morty is not as weird or as random as that. For me, Rick and Morty is just weird enough to be surprising, but not so weird that I didn’t enjoy it. A difficult line to dance around I think.

There are also a lot of great voice talent and guest stars on the show. You may not notice it if you’re not paying attention, but if you are and have some awareness of various actors or voice actors, then the show is a real treat in this regard. A few names that come to mind are Nathan Fillion, Christina Hendricks, and Tricia Helfer.

The animation quality is also pretty good. I find it hard to watch anything to badly animated, one of the reasons I didn’t enjoy Aqua Teen Hunger force. Rick and Morty is animated just fine.

Overall, I really enjoyed the show and recommend to those who like science fiction and cartoons. If you don’t like science fiction or cartoons, you should probably avoid this show. Furthermore, the stories are generally lighthearted, but they can get kind of dark sometimes. There is also a substantial amount of cursing and the subject matter could be considered adult, so I probably wouldn’t recommend letting young children watch the show.

Score: 7.5/10

Here’s a couple more promos for season 3. They all came out on April 1. I enjoyed them so I thought I should share.

Leave a comment