Restaurant Review: Wagamama

Details: Located at 210 5th Ave, New York, NY 10010. Official site is https://www.wagamama.us/

Wagamama is a chain of ramen restaurants that started in London (I think) and opened a new location a few months ago in New York City. I finally got around to trying it.

The food was all right. I had the Shirodashi Pork Ramen, which had slices of pork belly in a chicken broth. The pork belly was good as was the broth which was a little spicy. The noodles weren’t amazing, but they were okay. It was $14.

The atmosphere and interior were really trendy and fun. They mostly have stools and no chairs with backs. There’s an upstairs area but I didn’t go take a look.

Service is worth mentioning in that it was exceptional. I don’t know if it’s because this place is relatively new, but the staff was nicer than they normally are when I eat out.

Overall, a decent place for ramen. The main draw of this place is that it is a fun place to hang out and have drinks. The food is not exceptional.

Score: 6/10

Leave a comment