Movie Review: Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

Details: Released in 2017. A little under two hours and twenty minutes long. Stars Chris Pratt, Zoe Saldana, Dave Bautista.

I think what needs to be understood about this movie is that this is a fun movie. This is a comedy. If you’re looking for a serious story or a space opera, this isn’t it. There are some emotional points throughout the movie, but if you take the few moments of drama with the overwhelming amount of jokes and fourth wall breaking moments, it’s clear this is not a super serious film.

The film picks up where the last film left off. The Guardians of the Galaxy are doing jobs for aliens and they run into Peter Quill’s father. As we learn more about Peter’s father, we also meet new characters and explore and learn more about the preexisting characters in the Guardians of the Galaxy crew.

I enjoyed the film. With that said, I do feel like I’ve seen similar movies before… a lot. After the success of the first Guardians of the Galaxy film, I feel like there have been a lot of superhero movies that have tried to be funnier. Which is good, but only in moderation.

I think my biggest problem with this movie is that it tries so hard to be funny and I’ve seen that already. I’m ready for something new in my comic book movies and maybe some actors who are better at drama and emoting. It’s getting redundant.

That’s enough negativity for now. Let’s go over the good parts. There are a lot of jokes in the movie and a lot of them hit. Bautista is perhaps the funniest character in the film. There are lots of interesting cameo choices of recognizable actors, suggesting heavily what a third Guardians of the Galaxy movie may be like. The special and visual effects were great. What really elevated this movie to enjoyable, at least to me, was the many new characters and the inclusion of many recognizable celebrities. This movie was all right, but a Guardians of the Galaxy movie with a cast reminiscent of The Expendables would really interest me. I guess we’ll see what they do in the next one.

Overall, a fun movie with lots of jokes. This isn’t Star Wars or some other massive, dramatic space opera. This is Spaceballs. This is a comedy that just happens to take place in space and has millions of dollars of special effects crammed into it. It kind of reminded me of the Fast and the Furious movies.

Score: 7/10

Leave a comment