Restaurant Review: Shaking Crab

Details: Located at 37-02 Prince St, Flushing, NY 11354. Official site is http://www.shakingcrabflushing.com/

Shaking Crab is a Cajun style seafood boil that opened in Flushing. I think it’s currently the only one of its kind in the area. It’s not bad.

I ordered the lobster tail ($14 for one) with potatoes ($2), corn ($2), and “Shake It Up” (a few shrimp and a side of fries. You also get to decide the sauce and spice level. I got the Gulf sauce (no idea what’s in it but it has lots of garlic) and I picked the lowest spice level. I also got the sweet tea for $3.

That sauce was really good. Like I wanted to drink it good. The sweet tea was about the same as anywhere else. I confess I don’t love sweet tea. The seafood was all right.

Overall, it was okay. Including tax and tip, it came out to about forty dollars… which is all right I guess. The only issue is that in a place like Flushing, spending that much money usually warrants a greater quantity of food. Shaking Crab is the only restaurant I’m aware of doing this sort of thing in Flushing right now and they have a good location, but their comparatively high price and Western leaning style is likely to give them some trouble in competing with neighboring restaurants.

Score: 6/10

Leave a comment