Restaurant Review: Totto Ramen

Details: Located at 248 E 52nd St, New York, NY 10022. Official site is http://tottoramen.com/

It wasn’t that long ago that Totto Ramen was considered by many New Yorkers to be the best ramen in the city. Years have gone by, and while I’m not sure it’s the best ramen in the city, it’s one of the best bowls of ramen I’ve had in New York at a good price.

I’ve been to Totto Ramen a number of times, but most recently I’ve been to the Midtown East location.

I had their number one, which was the Chicken Paitan ramen. It’s eleven dollars for a bowl of their straight noodles and chicken broth. You also get two pieces of either the char siu pork or chicken. I had the pork. A soft-boiled egg is extra and does not come with the order.

I enjoyed the ramen very much. The noodles were noticeably firm and did not get soggy at all, almost to the point that they may have been under cooked. Personally I prefer my noodles that way so it didn’t bother me at all. The char siu pork was good. I ordered an extra portion of noodles for $2.50 and another order of char siu pork for $2.00. I almost never do that, but I really enjoyed the noodles and broth. The broth was also really good by the way.

Overall, I really enjoyed Totto Ramen, and this is from a guy who doesn’t love noodle soup. The noodles were good, the broth was good, the char siu was good, and at eleven dollars, the price is competitive for New York City. If you like ramen, Totto ramen is a great place to go.

Score: 7/10

Leave a comment