Restaurant Review: Soba Azuma

Details: Located at 251 W 55th St, New York, NY 10019. The official site is https://www.sobaazuma55.com/

I came here for dinner one night and ordered the Azuma Gozen (mini assorted tempura, dashimaki, three pieces of salmon sashimi, random side dish, rice, soba, and a scoop of ice cream, cost $19.50). You can get hot or cold soba. I chose cold. You can also order 100 grams, 200 grams, or 300 grams of soba depending on how much you feel like eating. Any serving size up to 300 grams all cost the same and over 300 grams costs extra.

The thing about soba is that it’s supposed to taste different. It’s also supposed to  be healthier. I can’t testify to any of that. To me, it just tasted like a bowl of regular noodles. I will say that if I ever have soba again, I will order the hot option where it comes served in a soup/broth. The cold version comes with cold noodles with a cold dipping sauce. It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t all that appetizing eating cold noodles.

Overall, not bad. If you’re in the area and feel like eating something slightly different from Japanese ramen, this isn’t a bad choice.

Score: 6.4/10

Leave a comment